furthering the passion

I could never be a photo journalist, going from place to place because there’s something going on, to cover the news and photograph it and come back right after. I don’t even take videos or photos during outreach. Most of the people I reach out to are homeless, and I know that nobody wants to be portrayed as homeless people are. Even if I have my camera I wouldn’t. Similar things go for missions that I want people to know before I leave to go places.

I have a vlog and a blog, but I don’t believe in having it be focused on what I do on missions. The blog, will most definitely be focused on my thoughts and certain things that happen. But my vlog will not be focused on filming people we go to go outreach or to teach. I want to be focused on what I’m going there for, and photography comes second. But I’m going to serve and to be served because I know from my past experience that through “serving” and evangelizing, I will be more blessed. I don’t go to go help or bless them. Only God can do that, correct?

So I wanted to clarify that, if I get the chance to, I’ll take photos of the people. But it’ll have to be after I’ve done what God is calling me to do and the people have to be so joyful about it, or else I would feel like I’m taking advantage of them and that is the last thing I want to do.
And so, that goes into saying that I want to do documentary photography. It’s a world of difference. Photojournalism is very short term, and documentary should be a long term project or series and to embed yourself into whatever community you want to focus on. Maybe I’ll end up doing a documentary series when I’m abroad, who knows. Only God know for now. I guess that’s where my heart for missions can really incorporate into the other things in my life I’m passionate about. From photography to social justice, God could take me anywhere in the world and I could live out Kingdom work and my passions.

I can’t get my mind to stop working on different things to start even when I have a bunch going on already. I just want to have project after project (which I’m all passionate about)Most of my photo series’ won’t be nearly done until at least my time in Norway comes to somewhat of a close. Maybe I’ll post a couple before I leave for outreach in March?

Who knows anymore.
Glory to the king,
sp

Leave a comment