What are you passionate about?

Passion has got to be the one thing that has been put on my heart for not only myself, but for everyone around me.

What is passion?

  • there are 2 types of passion
    • Strong and barely controllable desire
    • The suffering and death of Jesus

There’s 2 huge points. For me as a Christian, the second definition is obvious but still hard to continue for me. To know and understand the suffering and death of Jesus. That’s insane. For example, I was reading Matthew yesterday with my bible reading group and it was talking about the crucifixion. UGH, It breaks my heart every single time that I read about it. Which is why its hard for me to constantly understand the suffering and death of Jesus.

But I’m here to talk about that first definition.

A STRONG AND BARELY CONTROLLABLE DESIRE. BARELY.

excited

And thats whats been on my heart because of many reasons.

First, because thats how I feel about photography, video, design, and social justice.. It just gets me pumped. (we’re putting aside my passion for God, we’re assuming that I do all of this for God’s glory…which I do)

Talking about photography, thinking of ideas for new projects, new things to try. AND it doesn’t stop. There’s always something to learn and its literally unlimited. Which is great because I love learning.

The other reason was because throughout my traveling in the past year, I’ve seen a sort of… lack of this passion. Sometimes for both definitions, sometimes just one. And I’ve noticed it mostly in my generation. In America, in Korea, in Norway, and even in Kenya.

Now this is not everyone, I don’t like to generalize people but it’s just what I’ve seen.

The youth that I’ve encountered in all of these countries seem to have a lack of passion, not about God, but about our God given talents and desires. And I’m not talking about playing games or hanging out with friends. But something that you really feel an almost uncontrollable excitement for. In Norway, it’s just a lack of passion, they just “go with the flow”. It’s quite similar in America, in America its been a huge excitement for #wanderlust. Please. I personally don’t see the reason for traveling without a reason to go to the countries and places I go to. And that has to do with my passion for God and social justice, not photography. Other than that, there’s just way too many choices in America that people don’t know what to do. In Kenya, they don’t really have the means of following their dreams, and if they could, they can only learn about a certain amount of choices to be passionate about. In Korea, they don’t really have the time to be passionate about anything but school until they finish high school, and when they get to university, there’s so much pent up within them from being so “trapped” for so long that the freedom of being in college gets them crazy.

Okay, all that to say, here’s a couple points on Passion.

  1. You might not know what your passion is yet. At all. If nothing really excites you like that, pray. Explore the options, but don’t get too caught up on the exploring part.
  2. Just because you are passionate about something, doesn’t mean you won’t have a hard time with it at times. You will have to fight through the harder times to grow and find an even deeper love and excitement for it.
  3. Motivation is a choice. If you are passionate about something, you should pursue it fully. In your down time or whenever, learn. There’s always room to learn more!
  4. Be brave, be bold. Really pursue your passion. AS LONG, as it is for God’s glory. That should be the goal of literally every single thing that we do.

 

glory to the king of kings,

sp

Leave a comment